I knowI know – I know, I’ve been away for a long time. And I was doing so well. My excuse is that life sometimes throws a curve-ball, or puts a spanner in the works and the wheel comes off your trolley. Enough with the metaphors!

There is good news and also bad news. Which would you like first?

As a child when there was something on my plate that I didn’t like, I always gobbled it down first and fast, hardly bothering to chew; broccoli and parsnips being the twin villains that appeared at least once a week. So, I’ll deliver the bad news first; my mother was diagnosed with cancer a month ago. Since then it’s been a roller-coaster of sadness and tears and long weekend drives.

The good news is that I am ever so slightly pregnant. Hooray!
You are the first person I have told. So keep it to yourself. I wouldn’t want the world and his wife to know.

